Dr. Richark K. Wilson (left) receives 2012 Outstanding St. Louis Scientist Award

Directors Receive Outstanding St. Louis Scientists Award

The St. Louis Academy of Science honors directors Richard Wilson, Elaine Mardis and Timothy Ley with the George Engelmann Interdisciplinary Science Award recognizing outstanding achievement in science, engineering or technology that results from collaboration among two or more individuals across disciplinary and/or institutional boundaries.

The academy presents the Outstanding St. Louis Scientists Awards at its 18th annual dinner Thursday, April 19, at the Chase Park Plaza Hotel. The awards are designed to focus attention on St. Louis individuals and institutions known around the world for scientific contributions to research, industry and quality of life.

Richard K. Wilson, PhD, professor of genetics and director of The Genome Institute; Elaine R. Mardis, PhD, professor of genetics and of molecular microbiology, co-director and director of technology development of The Genome Institute; and Timothy J. Ley, MD, the Lewis T. and Rosalind B. Apple Chair in Oncology, professor of medicine and of genetics, and associate director of The Genome Institute, are the first to receive the new George Engelmann Interdisciplinary/Collaborative Science Award.

Wilson, Mardis and Ley are recognized for collaborative work that has helped to lay the foundation of cancer genomic research, diagnostics and therapeutics. The academy recognizes them for their unique look at cancer, which has helped to bring in a new era of personalized medicine. The academy also commended them for their participation in a $65 million partnership with St. Jude Children’s Hospital to define the gene mutation spectrum in pediatric cancer. That work is creating a public database that will be shared with the international scientific community to speed progress toward fighting childhood cancers.